It is prohibited to drive without insurance in Texas. Being the second largest state in the United States, Texas is one of the most crowded cities in the country and has high chances of car accidents, theft, damages, etc. Texan drivers must have basic car insurance that is bodily and property damage. Finding the right car insurance that allows you to stay up to date with the Texas requirements is essential.
In this blog, we will provide insight into how to get car insurance in texas.
Texas Auto Insurance Laws
In Texas, you will need proof of your car insurance when or if you get:
- Pulled over by officers
- Get your car registered
- Complete specific transactions about your driving license
- Get a car inspection
If you don’t get your car insurance coverage, a fine in Texas can go up to $1000. In addition, you will also have to pay the surcharges for the annual driver’s license fee. It’s best to avoid this hassle and get the minimum required insurance coverage.
Average Cost of Car Insurance in Texas
According to an evaluation by Bankrate – the average cost of car insurance is $1,771 annually, which means around $148 monthly. Additionally, as per Bankrate, the legal expense of car insurance in Texas is $1,868 for full coverage and $551 for minimum coverage insurance as of November 2022.
However, various factors come into play when deciding your insurance rate, such as:
- Your driving record (any accidents or speeding tickets)
- How much you drive (on a daily/monthly etc.)
- Location (the state you live in)
- The car you drive (the cost rises if you have got an expensive car)
- Your credit score (a decent credit score can help you decrease your rates)
- The type and amount of auto insurance coverage you choose (basic or full coverage)
What Type of Liability Insurance Is Required In Texas?
As per Texas law, it is crucial to have car insurance that protects others in the event of an accident leading to property damages or bodily harm. This type of insurance is labeled as liability insurance. However, you should understand that this insurance type does not cover you, your belongings, or your car.
The minimum liability coverage required by the law is $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident for bodily injury coverage, and $25,000 for property damage coverage.
What Is Termed As ‘Full Coverage’ Insurance In Texas?
If you wish to be fully covered by the law in Texas, all you need to do is buy a car insurance policy that meets the Texas minimum requirements of 30/60/25. However, in some states, comprehensive car insurance or coverage means meeting your state’s required minimums plus collision insurance and comprehensive insurance.
The former helps you cover the cost of fixing damage to your car in an accident with another car, and the latter helps to pay for damages sustained by events including theft, fire or hail.
However, if you decide to finance or lease your car, you might need to add or get comprehensive collision coverage to your policy.
Does Texas Require You to Get Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
No, the Texas law does not state that you should have uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. Nevertheless, you need to give it a chance to add it to your policy. However, you must reject it in writing if the individual doesn’t want it
You need to note that the insurance of the driver who is at fault usually assists in covering the total cost of damages. Without uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, you might be caught up with the bill if the other party doesn’t have adequate coverage.
Is Texas A No-Fault Insurance State?
No. Texas is not a no-fault insurance state, meaning you will pay the damages if you’re responsible for an accident. Likewise, they will be payable if a driver has caused an accident. Thus, Texan drivers must consider coverages, including uninsured motorist coverage and personal injury protection (PIP).
Both these coverages will allow you to have some financial protection in the occasion of an accident with an underinsured or uninsured driver. These coverages are highly recommended; if you wish to have them, you must write them down and vice versa.
How to Get Car Insurance in Texas?
Contact your choice of insurance provider – survey the market, get quotes from more than three and make a decision. If you wish to change your insurance company and feel like the prices are too high, here’s what you need to do to afford your car insurance costs. We’ve also listed some tips on how you can lower your premium.
- Contact your insurance company
- Ask for discounts
- Raise your deductible
- Change your coverage
- Consider pay-per-mile insurance
- Shop for a new policy
- Work on your credit
Get Your Car Insurance With an Experienced Automobile Insurance Service Provider in San Angelo, Texas
Not only does a car insurance policy cover your expenses in case of an accident, but it also is much cheaper if you look at it from a long-term perspective. It will help reduce medical, road assistance, property damage, and replacement costs.
If you’re looking for suitable car insurance in Texas, you must speak to the professionals at Pronto Insurance today. If you’ve recently gotten a new vehicle and don’t wish to spend more in case of a severe accident, car insurance is a must.
If you’re looking for a dependable insurance service provider, Pronto Insurance offers various insurance services, including car insurance, to San Angelo, Texas.
Contact them today to learn more about their automobile insurance services.
No comment yet, add your voice below!